Someone just PM'd me this address on Steam with a offer for a free copy of TF2. Something tells me it's not on the level and I would like you guys to take a look.
ediiiittttttttted.
If it is legit though let me know because I would love to play TF2. I suspect though its phishing and would advise you to warn your friends about this because if it isn't legit it is kind of convincing.
Page 1 of 1
Suspected Phishing Site
#2
Posted 10 August 2009 - 08:44 PM
if just visiting the site doesnt jack your shit and it says you gotta sign in...why not just make a new steam and try it on an empty account?
This post has been edited by pandas gotta gun & a blunt: 10 August 2009 - 08:44 PM
"First off, you're a fucking dick. Second off, you're an fucking idiot...I really don't think you have any right to say what can and cannot be said here.So just shut the hell up and go play some games and fail at life in your own fucked up way."-ChowDown
[quote name='']
Do not promote or solicit illegal activities.
abuse reports are to be discussed only in the appropriate forum. Only Directors, the offender, and the acting Admin may discuss the situation during the resolve.
Flaming will not be tolerated, and will provoke removal from this site.
You should know better (insert name here)
[/quote]
[quote name='']
Do not promote or solicit illegal activities.
abuse reports are to be discussed only in the appropriate forum. Only Directors, the offender, and the acting Admin may discuss the situation during the resolve.
Flaming will not be tolerated, and will provoke removal from this site.
You should know better (insert name here)
[/quote]
#3
Posted 10 August 2009 - 08:46 PM
pandas gotta gun & a blunt, on 10 August 2009 - 08:44 PM, said:
if just visiting the site doesnt jack your shit and it says you gotta sign in...why not just make a new steam and try it on an empty account?
I'm pretty sure it can't jack your account if you visit the site through firefox. If it can though let me know and i will combofix immediately.
#4
Posted 10 August 2009 - 08:50 PM
http://www.isgaming.co.za/node/995 i googled the address and thats the first thing that popped up. while nvidia does occationally do promotions last i checked they would be on the steam website and you wouldnt be contacted individually. as a matter fact it usually depends on if you have nvidia products or not and it does a system check to verify and so on. so yeh sounds fake to me.
notice the steam website> Go to http://www.steampowered.com/nvidia/ and you will get: blahblahblah
^ i did that one by the way on another account some time ago. this is how id expect all legitimate promotions would look. im not going to touch your link.
notice the steam website> Go to http://www.steampowered.com/nvidia/ and you will get: blahblahblah
^ i did that one by the way on another account some time ago. this is how id expect all legitimate promotions would look. im not going to touch your link.
This post has been edited by pandas gotta gun & a blunt: 10 August 2009 - 08:56 PM
"First off, you're a fucking dick. Second off, you're an fucking idiot...I really don't think you have any right to say what can and cannot be said here.So just shut the hell up and go play some games and fail at life in your own fucked up way."-ChowDown
[quote name='']
Do not promote or solicit illegal activities.
abuse reports are to be discussed only in the appropriate forum. Only Directors, the offender, and the acting Admin may discuss the situation during the resolve.
Flaming will not be tolerated, and will provoke removal from this site.
You should know better (insert name here)
[/quote]
[quote name='']
Do not promote or solicit illegal activities.
abuse reports are to be discussed only in the appropriate forum. Only Directors, the offender, and the acting Admin may discuss the situation during the resolve.
Flaming will not be tolerated, and will provoke removal from this site.
You should know better (insert name here)
[/quote]
#5
Posted 10 August 2009 - 10:30 PM
Someone PM'd you a link on steam.
99.99% that link is a scam.
They offer you something free.
100.1% it's a scam.
99.99% that link is a scam.
They offer you something free.
100.1% it's a scam.
#6
Posted 10 August 2009 - 10:30 PM
Not real. It should be steampowered.com, if not it would have a totally different layout. I don't trust it.
#7
Posted 11 August 2009 - 10:14 AM
Checked it out... doesnt look legit, but im sure steam and whatever the other company could sue them for using the logo in a attempt to steal accounts lol.
#8
Posted 11 August 2009 - 12:03 PM
Yo don't post those links on here man, there are methods of stealing information without providing anything.
This has happened to me before, I believe there's a new phising "fad." I've also recieved random friend adds in the past with messages like: "Please go here and join my group, I need 1 more member to blabalbal" or "Get free games here:!" in which I was required to enter information. The funny thing is, when I looked at these guys' Steam profiles, they all looked very legit - meaning they probably got scammed and the scammer was trying to get others through other accounts. In fact this happened to someone on my friends list, bottom line is: never give out your steam info. But if some random guy adds you and asks you to go somewhere, it should be obvious its a hoax - beware of your friends, they can get their accounts stolen too.
Sue who? Nobody has any idea who was the creator of the scam. That's kind of the point.
This has happened to me before, I believe there's a new phising "fad." I've also recieved random friend adds in the past with messages like: "Please go here and join my group, I need 1 more member to blabalbal" or "Get free games here:!" in which I was required to enter information. The funny thing is, when I looked at these guys' Steam profiles, they all looked very legit - meaning they probably got scammed and the scammer was trying to get others through other accounts. In fact this happened to someone on my friends list, bottom line is: never give out your steam info. But if some random guy adds you and asks you to go somewhere, it should be obvious its a hoax - beware of your friends, they can get their accounts stolen too.
Quote
Checked it out... doesnt look legit, but im sure steam and whatever the other company could sue them for using the logo in a attempt to steal accounts lol.
Sue who? Nobody has any idea who was the creator of the scam. That's kind of the point.
#9
Posted 11 August 2009 - 05:24 PM
good reasoning. Bottom line, no one should even try it. Who would be stupid enough to give away a free copy of TF2, a game surrently worth 30$, instead of selling the 50+ games he has for 1.5K+ (if he had said amount)
Besides, give it a few months and TF2 will be 20$, and if you cant afford that, Maybe its not all the worth it?
All in all, just ignore it.
Besides, give it a few months and TF2 will be 20$, and if you cant afford that, Maybe its not all the worth it?
All in all, just ignore it.
#10
Posted 14 August 2009 - 07:14 PM
TF2 is 20 dollars thru steam, rag don't get suckered into that.. thats why they put that up is to attract people like u lol

My Steam Page
http://steamcommunity.com/id/legacyftw
#11
Posted 15 August 2009 - 07:14 PM
you posted a link to a phishing site? way to go man, way to go.

Share this topic:
Page 1 of 1
Sign In »
Register Now!
Help
This topic is locked




Back to top
Promote to Article
MultiQuote


















